According to the Illinois Real Estate License Act:
- To obtain a real estate Broker license, an individual is required to:
Complete a State approved 60 hour Broker Pre-License Topics course and the 15 hour Broker Pre-License Applied Real Estate Principles course (available from Information Professionals, Inc.)
Be at least 18 years of age and have a high school degree or a GED (no college is required)
Be an Illinois attorney currently licensed to practice law before the Illinois Supreme Court.
- To obtain a real estate Managing Broker license, an individual is required to:
Complete the State approved 30 hour Managing Broker Pre-License Topics and the 15 hour Managing Broker Pre-License Applied Management and Supervision course (available from Information Professionals, Inc.). Must have 2 years experience (of the past 3 years) as a Broker to be eligible for a Managing Broker’s license
Be a currently licensed attorney registered to practice law before the Illinois Supreme Court and have held a Broker license for 2 of the past 3 years.
- Continuing Education Requirements for license renewal
Brokers must renew their license by April 30th of the even numbered years, and Managing Broker’s renew their license by April 30th of the even numbered years. Brokers must take 12 hours of approved CE courses. They must take a 4 hour in-class Core course; a 1 hour in-class Sexual Harassment course (Information Professionals Sex H. course is 2 hours) and 6 hours of elective courses (elective hours can be either home study or in-class).
Managing Brokers renew April 30 of the odd numbered years. Individuals holding a valid real estate Managing Broker license are required to complete 12 hours of State approved continuing education and the 12 hour Broker Management course. Of the 12 hours continuing education 4 hours must be the in-class Core and at least 1 hour in-class Sexual Harassment course.
Illinois Attorneys are exempt from continuing education.
CE hours must be taken in the 2 years preceding each renewal period. No carry-over is allowed of extra hours from previous periods.
Check out our FAQs (frequently asked questions) for answers to many of your licensing requirement questions — or call our voice line at 708-687-8049.
You’ll never know unless you ask!